IMPORTANT: All players are to adhere to the COVID-19 laws set by the Victorian Government.


The 2021 Doubles Club Championship is a round robin tournament played between members of the Bendigo Tennis Club. Each pair will play 5 matches in the round robin, then finals (if qualify).


START: 30th April, 2021

END: June 11th (FINAL)


Doubles pairs are divided into two groups and will play each pair once in their group during the round robin tournament. The top two pairs in each group will play-off for the coveted “BTC Doubles Club Champion” trophy. See the Finals section below for more details.


The BTC Doubles Club Championship Organizing Committee have attempted to create equal playing groups. Pairs have been randomly assigned a number in each group.

Entry Fee

$20 per pair


Winners get bragging rights for the next 12 months, plus recognition on the world famous BTC trophy.


All matches are best of 3 sets, with the 3rd set being a 10 point super tie-breaker (if required).

Set Completion

A set is completed when one pair wins 6 games by a margin of 2 games. If the set score reaches 6-6, a 7-point tiebreaker is played to determine the winner of that set. If a third set is required, a 10-point super tiebreaker is to be played.

Earning Points

Pairs receive points based on the set scores of your match.

Calculating Points

The Winning Pair Receives
14 points for a 2 set win

12 points for a 3 set win (the 3rd set is a 10 point super tie-breaker)

The Losing Pair Receives
One point for each game won in their two sets, up to a maximum of 8 points per match.

Win by Default (injury or cancellation)

Winning pair receives 12 points
Losing pair receives 0 points


Hopefully the weather gods play nicely throughout the tournament. However, if you have been unable to play your match during the one week period due to poor weather please let the organising committee know and we will reshuffle the schedule to get your match started or completed.

Match Play

Court Location & Balls

One player per match will be assigned captain (c) and they will be responsible for organising the match time, court and balls.

Court Fees

Court fees, including lights (if needed) and ball fees are to be shared between the four players.


If a pair forfeits their opponent will receive the maximum of 12 points.

Posting Scores

The captain of the court is responsible for posting the scores to BTC WhatsApp group.

Match Scheduling

Don’t wait until the last minute to schedule your matches!
The captain should contact their opponents as soon as they receive the schedule. When the draw is released you will be tagged either a captain or not.

Scheduling your matches

The schedule will allow you one week to play each match. Please refer to the Draw to determine who you are playing each week.


The Finals will be played once all round robin matches are complete.

Who qualifies?

The top 2 pairs in each group will qualify for finals.

Finals Format

Semi Finals:

#1 Group 1 v # 2 Group 2

#1 Group 2 v # 2 Group 1

The winners will play off in the Championship match.

*If two pairs finish on equal points after the completion of the round robin, the winning pair will be those with the fewest games against. If there is still a tie, the pair with the least number of three set matches will be the winner.

Last Point

The BTC Doubles Club Championship Rules are subject to change at any point. Here’s hoping we get through the tourney without any hiccups, but if we need to make changes to keep the tourney running we will.

Play fierce but have fun. Unsporting behaviour will not be tolerated against your opponent .

May the best BTC player win!

BTC Club Championship Organising Committee (v1.0)